My Dirtiest Job


I’ve had one or two interesting jobs, being a Kwik E Mart Plaid Pantry clerk was one of them, but the dirtiest one was helping a company clean out its boilers.

At the time, I had been living with scuzz bags disreputable “friends”, and was between jobs. So I took an offer at an day labor agency that sent people out on a daily basis–as long as they showed up early. Yeah, being desperate for cash while on a real job search, I decided to do it since they gave a $100 bonus for finishing up the week.

Added bonus: I was the only girl. Viva la tough chick. (That would be me.)

We got there and we were given a two hour safety lecture and paper-like astronaut suits were handed out. WE were always to wear our gear near the boilers. Always. And it was a good thing, because the white suits were always a dull gray when we were done for the day–I dread to imagine what that would have done to our lungs. Blech!

Anyway, I was lucky to pull “watch” duty for the week, ostensibly because of my femaleness. (woot!) It was boring, signaling the others for breaks, sitting on my tush…always having to be alert…but it was a damn better gig than what the men went through. I was pretty hot outside of the boiler and even though it was off (duh), I know it was blisteringly so inside.

Yeah, I stuck it out. Yeah, I got the bonus.

As for the friends that I lived with? I moved the hell out.

I guess there is no real point to this post. Just writing to write.

Posted on March 4, 2008, in Blogging, I'm not CRAZY!. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i was a janitor at an adult film store.

    I won’t go into further details.

  2. I almost worked as an assistant for a lady who sold sex toys from her house (strictly administrative position of course)..

Leave a Reply

