In Short…


Sweeney Todd + Tim Burton = homicidal awesomeness.  Yeah, I borrowed that word from the ISB.** What’s that blogger gonna do to me? Give me paper cuts from horrible, outdated, misogynistic comic books? I kid, I kid.

In truth, there IS a hero in this movie, but it ain’t Sweeney. Duh, I know.  And it ain’t Mrs. Lovett with her lovely meat pies… It’s the orphan that Mrs. Lovett takes in. Ooops. I’ve already said too much. 

I do feel a certain amount of sympathy for the titular character, but  he may have gone a little overboard with the killing and the singing whilst elbow deep in blood. (Obviously fake.  Real blood is darker, especially coming from an artery.***

Yes. This is a musical. With blood. Lots of arterial spray all over the place.   I guess that means even manly men can watch and enjoy the spectacle of this movie. It’s bloodier than I expected, and even darker than most of Burton’s films, but it is a good film.

_________________________________

**If you are a comics fan, this blog is a daily MUST read.

***Don’t ask me how I know. I’ll have to show you! I joke.  (As far as YOU know.)

 

Posted on May 20, 2008, in Film, Pop Culture. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

