Write Stuff


“Writing isn’t about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid, or making friends. In the end, it’s about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life, as well. It’s about getting up, getting well, and getting over. Getting happy, okay? Getting happy.”
—Stephen King

Stephen King is more profound than a lot of people give him credit for; I adore his writing and study it every time I read one of his books. I always find something new in them, a layer to the story that I have overlooked in previous reading. (Or just plain forgot!) I think people tend to, pardon the pun, write him off because he’s been put into the horror category.

Horror is definitely an under-rated genre. I digress, though.

Actually, I think great intelligence and insight on human psychology is a must to be able write horror convincingly. The writer’s job is to scare the hell out of the reader…and since all the reader has to go on is words on a page, it is imperative that the writer picks words carefully and hammer them into a believable plot, as well as create identifiable characters, that hooks them into that world and scenario. And that, my friends and neighbors, is key to good writing.

Writing fiction makes me happy, even if I don’t let anyone else see what I create. I’m feeling the urge so I guess it’s time to get off the ol’ blog and start writing.

Posted on June 6, 2008, in Books, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

